Eclipse Award Sponsors West Michigan Film Office West Michigan Film and Video Alliance WKTV TV & Digital Media Production Compass College of Cinematic Arts Fairway Film Alliance

And the 2017 winners are...

Best Editing in a Documentary

Rich Jackson for "Stuck in Traffic, Modern-Day Slavery in Michigan"

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Laura Walczak for "Wake"

Best Cinema Trailer

"Migration" – David Huizingh, producer

Best Director in a Documentary

Rich Jackson for "Stuck in Traffic, Modern-Day Slavery in Michigan"

Best Editor in a a Feature or Short

Cameron Lewis for "Mordecai"

Best Local & Regional Segments & Promotional Pieces

"Gabe" – David MacKenzie, Jilaine Snoeyink, Producers

Best Music Video, Original Performance

"Private Slum" – Zachary Clark, Andy Westra, Producers

The 2017 Hyperion Award

Dr. Deb Havens

Best Sound Design

Todd Lewis for "The Rotation"

On-Line programs, Segments or Promotional Pieces

"Grand Rapids Glossary" – Brian Kelly, Producer

Best Director in a Feature or Short

Andrew Behm for "Hold On"
Kyle Misak was for "Crazy Carl"

Best Original Score

Gregory De lulio for "Crazy Carl"

Best Cinematography

Ben Wilke for "Baxter Community Center"

Best Narrative Short

"Shadows" – Geoffrey Young Haney, Joseph Scott Anthony, Dustin Wilfert, Producers

Best Writing in Documentary & Promotional Piece

Jason Ley for "Modern Ahabs"

Best Documentary Short

"Renardo" – Nathan Roels, Producer

Best Local TV & Cable

"Modern Ahabs" – Ben Wilke, Jason Ley, Producers

Best Feature Documentary

"New Heights: Restoring A City" – Eric Schrotenboer, Taz Painter, Producers

Best Animation

Erik Sebert for "Space Scavenger"

Best Screenplay

Harper Philbin and John Dufresne for "Lucky Jay 2"

Best Actor in a Lead Role

Morlan Higgins for "Lucky Jay 2"

Best Narrative Feature

"Needlestick" – Steven Karageanes, Producer

The 6th Annual Eclipse Awards Nominees:

The annual Eclipse Awards are made possible by WKTV Digital Cinema, the West Michigan Film Office, the West Michigan Film Video Alliance, Ferris State University, Compass College of Cinematic Arts, and Fairway Film Alliance. The Eclipse Awards seek to elevate content creators throughout the region by honoring their works through local, regional, national and international voting on entered works in film, television and on-line production. The Eclipse Award is given for story telling and production excellence in the production community.

How To Enter

Crafts & Primary Categories

After Nominations, voting then proceeds onto the second round. It is in this second round that the nominees in each category are selected for the final award.


Enter Work

And the award goes to...

The entry window opens on November 21st, 2016 and closes on March 27th, 2017.


Terms & Conditions

Submission of Content

The following terms and conditions govern the submission of content to WKTV for consideration for the Eclipse Awards.


Distributor Fairway Film Alliance/ Rogue Arts Offer First Look

Fairway Film Alliance

Los Angeles distributor FairwayFilm Alliance, through their Rogue Arts label, is offering a first look to the 6th Annual Eclipse Award winners in the feature film and documentary category. Following the night of the awards ceremony, when the winners are known, the connection between Fairway Film Alliance and the winner(s) in these categories will be set up!

Visit Their Website

Important Dates

Call For Entries

The window opens for receiving entries to the 6th Annual Eclipse Awards.

Entry Window Closes

At 5pm entries will no longer be accepted into the 6th Annual Eclipse Awards. The first round of voting begins.


2nd Round of Voting Ends

Voting on the 6th Annual Eclipse Awards comes to an end. The results are kept secret until the Award Ceremony.

The Eclipse Lounge Nominees Gathering

If you are nominated, please attend the Eclipse Lounge Nominee Gathering on Monday, May 15th.

Awards Ceremony

The Awards Ceremony commences beginning at 6:30 pm. The Afterglow party immediately follows the show.


Look back on the magic

Pictures from the 2016 Eclipse Awards.

See Gallery2016 Eclipse Awards

Pictures from the 2015 Eclipse Awards.

See Gallery2015 Eclipse Awards

Pictures from the 2014 Eclipse Awards

See Gallery2014 Eclipse Awards

2016 Winners